To the library!

February 21, 2012 § 6 Comments

Many men are more female than I am. All that is female about me is my bosom, a few more curves and more delicate hands. The skirt is round my waist, not my mind. It is often the case that the sex of the soul does not correspond to that of the body and that is a contradiction which invariably creates dreadful confusion. If, for example, I had not taken this decision, which may seem crazy but is basically sensible, to give up the clothes of a sex which is only mine materially and fortuitously, I should have been miserable.

Mademoiselle de Maupin, Gautier (1835)

Fuck this idea that gender/sexual variety is a modern invention. I’m always astounded by the number of people who haven’t read Mademoiselle de MaupinIf you have any sense in you, please acquire a copy as soon as you possibly can. If I had the money I would buy everyone a copy of their very own, and an enormous hot chocolate to drink as they read it.

§ 6 Responses to To the library!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading To the library! at a gentleman and a scholar.

meta

