Trans Beauty: Part Three

August 3, 2011 § Leave a comment

My goodness, it’s been a while since one of these. Too busy admiring all the lovely trans people in my day-to-day life. But I feel it’s high time I salute the wonderful lady who has the honour of being the first out trans person I ever crushed out on – the truly glorious Lady Chablis.

 

Oh

 

so

 

beautiful

 

Like most people this side of the pond, I first came across the Lady in the 1997 movie Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil. Even though I wasn’t quite sure where I stood on the whole gender/sexuality spectrum, I knew that anyone who could THINK of turning down such fierce, witty, high femme awesomeness needed to have a good sit down and think about just what they did wrong. The Lady Chablis was not only pure sex on legs – she was sex on legs with a brain and attitude to match. Sweet, merciful jesus – bring me a fan, I feel all aflutter.

 

There’s a lot of shit that gets slung about in the trans community about the crossover points between drag experience and transsexual experience. Despite the vast number of people who have, at different points in their lives, existed in different communities – maybe moving from one to the other, maybe approaching drag from the other side, maybe using drag as a stepping stone – maybe just living their lives and not worrying about what to call it – there are still some rather odious individuals who feel the needs to call drag queens or femme performers nothing but clueless cis males. Well, some drag queens are. And some drag queens aren’t. Some consider themselves trans. Some don’t. Is sexual and gender exploration, diversity and celebration a beautiful thing? You bet your life it is.

Personally, I think the Lady says it best. It’s a maxim I like to live by. On being asked if she’s a “female impersonator”?

 

If you need a label, just stick with BITCH.

 

Oh, Ms. Chablis – I will certainly drink to that.

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Trans Beauty: Part Three at a gentleman and a scholar.

meta

