Today, I have been mostly watching…

June 28, 2010 § 1 Comment

…Tootsie. And I find it depressing to realise that I don’t think a movie this progressive, and this feminist, would be a major Hollywood release today.

I know that it’s had its share of stupid interpretations over the years – dear God, from imbeciles who can’t tell their arse from their elbows, nor the story of a cis man learning a lesson (in a dress) from the real lives of trans women (dresses/trousers/futuristic catsuit/many options – hurray for the foibles of fashion).

But…honestly, when was the last time you saw a movie where the straight, and frequently clueless male lead admits that he needed to live as a woman to become a better man? Where his (straight) love interest wouldn’t have paid him a second thought without loving him as a woman first? Where the romantic complications and confusions could come out of an 18th century opera plot? Where sexism in the entertainment industry is denounced? And where Dustin Hoffman looks so much like various members of my family way back in 80s, and creates such a wonderful, engaging,  witty person in Dorothy Michaels that I wish I could step through the screen and take her out for coffee and cake and bask in her wisdom.

It’s my ultimate comfort movie. Watch it right now.

§ One Response to Today, I have been mostly watching…

  • I love this movie too, but you’ve neatly explained here all the things that are great about it. And I have to agree – I don’t think it would be as successful today – in many ways we seem to be going backwards. Good review! TDx

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Today, I have been mostly watching… at a gentleman and a scholar.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 578 other followers

